Your AD Here


How to Disable "Untrusted Connection" Notification In Mozilla Firefox

Mozilla Firefox tends to display the "Untrusted Connection" Notification when it tries to protect your computer from harmful websites by blocking access to sites that possess expired or forged Secure Socket Layer(SSL) certificates. SSL certificates help to verify the authenticity and ownership of a domain when attempting to establish a secure connection. Firefox also blocks access to certain sites that have been reported to attempt installation of harmful software on user computers, thereby preventing access into such sites. If you want to visit a blocked website via Firefox, you must manually override the settings. To manipulate the protection settings, do the following...

1.   Click the Firefox desktop icon to launch the browser on your PC or click "Start," "All Programs," "Mozilla Firefox" and then "Firefox" .
Position the mouse cursor in the address bar and type "about:config" in the space. Click the green arrow at the end of the address bar or press the "Enter" key. Click the "I'll be careful, I promise!" button after the "This might void your warranty!" warning message about changing advanced settings appears on the screen.

Enter "browser.ssl_override_behavior" in the "Filter" text box. Locate the "browser.ssl_override_behavior" value in the "Preference Name" list and double-click it. Delete the "2" value in the "Enter integer value" dialog box. Enter "1" in the dialog box and click the"OK" button.

Close the Firefox and restart it. Firefox will longer block access to sites with expired or unknown SSL certificates.
Launch Firefox on your computer as described in Step 1. Navigate to a website that prompts Firefox to display the "This Connection is Untrusted" warning message. Click the "Add Exception" button at the bottom of the warning message box.

Click and enable the "Permanently Store This Exception" option. Click the "Confirm Security Exception" button. The window closes and Firefox no longer displays the warning message or blocks access to the site. You must add the exception for every untrusted site you want to browse. And that's it you're done!!!

Sometimes you don't even need to go through all that to disable the "This connection is untrusted" warning message. Most times what causes it is either wrong time or date. So to Disable it, just correct your time and date and Boom!! you'll never see the warning message again!!


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Myspace
  • Google Buzz
  • Reddit
  • Stumnleupon
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Technorati
Author: Mohammad
Mohammad is the founder of STC Network which offers Web Services and Online Business Solutions to clients around the globe. Read More →